playing on multiple systems & poorly named kingdoms

All things Desktop Dungeons

playing on multiple systems & poorly named kingdoms

Postby TwinBladeWarrior on Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:24 pm

Is there a problem with using multiple systems on steam?

I've been using my own pc and the family pc downstairs
loaded my game on the family pc and it had reset some of my progress: not upgraded the church to 3, no berserker silver, bloodmage bronze, paladin bronze completed. unfortunately I didnt notice until after i upgraded the alchemist and it autosaved, Cue massive annoyance at having to do berserker silver again. Which i suck at.

Luckily I was able to load my upstairs offline which still had my progress saved, connected and overwrote the online data. Thank you so much for giving us that chioce when theres a mismatch

In other not entirely related butihaveyourattentionnow musings is it possible to change my kingdom name? I didnt think that savegames would carry over to the release version and ended up with The kingdom of October 13 (as opposed to the kingdom of Ian beta 1 from absolutely ages ago) which I dont relly want to have to restart
TwinBladeWarrior
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:37 pm

Re: playing on multiple systems & poorly named kingdoms

Postby dislekcia on Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:51 pm

You should be able to rename saves by simply renaming the .sav file and the corresponding directory of the same name, but I'd wait for Aequitas for definitive word on that.

If you do mess with your save folder, create a backup!
User avatar
dislekcia
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: playing on multiple systems & poorly named kingdoms

Postby TwinBladeWarrior on Tue Nov 26, 2013 8:42 pm

dislekcia wrote:You should be able to rename saves by simply renaming the .sav file and the corresponding directory of the same name, but I'd wait for Aequitas for definitive word on that.

If you do mess with your save folder, create a backup!


That's good advice for anyone working with computers really
I have some experience with horribly breaking things so I understand the importance of backup versions

That said I don't like to mess with anything like this without permission, its a good way to get banned

its a minor annoyance, I'll live with it for now
Thanks and keep up the good work
TwinBladeWarrior
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:37 pm

Re: playing on multiple systems & poorly named kingdoms

Postby dislekcia on Tue Nov 26, 2013 8:51 pm

TwinBladeWarrior wrote:That said I don't like to mess with anything like this without permission, its a good way to get banned

its a minor annoyance, I'll live with it for now
Thanks and keep up the good work


Um, you wouldn't get banned from anywhere... I just don't want to give you advice that doesn't work. Give it a try and see what happens, as long as you have backups :)
User avatar
dislekcia
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa


Return to Desktop Dungeons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron