[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 120: preg_filter(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 120: preg_filter(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
QCF Design Community • View topic - Order of effects in combat

Order of effects in combat

All things Desktop Dungeons

Order of effects in combat

Postby OneMoreNameless on Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:55 pm

Has anybody ever put together a complete listing of what order the various damage calculations and special abilities are applied when engaging in combat with an enemy? I ask this because I just started playing around with my shiny new Avatar's Codex and it weirded me out that a sorcerer's Essence Transmit (every mana point spent regenerates 2 health) apparently occurs not upon casting, but after the enemy has had a chance to retaliate. This actually works in your favour when attacking from full health, and now I'm wonder what other odd interactions I might have missed so far.
OneMoreNameless

Re: Order of effects in combat

Postby Naoya on Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:33 am

FS Enemy -> FS Player->Enemy->Player->Slowed Monster-> Slowed Player
Slow on Enemys overrides First strike, Player First strike and slow cancel each other out (afaik)

Burning gets triggered immediately after a Player attack, not sure how it works with Mageshield though.
Player Knockback occurs after getting hit by an enemy, even if you're dead (but not on Retaliate:Fireball).
The exception to this is the Reflex Potion; it will trigger on Retaliate:Fireball, and will also trigger Knockback.
Enemy Knockback occurs after the enemy's attack.
BURNDAYRAZ comes before Retaliate Fireball, even if the enemys have First Strike.
Lifesteal gets applied after the player attack.
Poison/Burning strike (presumably) get applied after Player attack.