Update For Fullscreen

All things Desktop Dungeons

Update For Fullscreen

Postby GoatBot on Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:04 am

User avatar
GoatBot
 
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 4:01 pm

Re: Update For Fullscreen

Postby berpdreyfuss on Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:45 pm

That sounds great, though I never noticed the blurriness in a negative way. Maybe I'll be surprised how the game looks now :)

And again, can't wait to buy the game for android!
berpdreyfuss
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Update For Fullscreen

Postby Darvin on Tue Mar 11, 2014 4:11 pm

Still hoping for a stand-alone release over here. At any rate, keep up the good work!
User avatar
Darvin
 
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:44 am

Re: Update For Fullscreen

Postby flap on Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:52 pm

Darvin wrote:Still hoping for a stand-alone release over here. At any rate, keep up the good work!


Well, once you have downloaded with steam, you don't need to start steam anymore (and I don't think that it logs to steam either, as I have none of the achievments). So it is almost as if it was stand alone.
flap
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:26 pm

Re: Update For Fullscreen

Postby dislekcia on Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:33 am

Darvin wrote:Still hoping for a stand-alone release over here. At any rate, keep up the good work!


We're working on a couple of different places to buy the game, keep your eyes (eye?) peeled :)

Also, I'm in an airport. Only like 22 hours to go till we arrive in the US.
User avatar
dislekcia
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Update For Fullscreen

Postby nopaint on Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:20 pm

Honestly I never felt the bilinear default fullscreen was BAD or Blurry. Yeah, it was a bit blurry, but that's billinear right? Still alot better than a normal 2x filter who has to relly on precise coordinates to mantain the aspect ratio. By the way what does the shader fullscreen do? It enables us to write our own shaders and make it work with the game, or just a default billinear shader for compatibility?
User avatar
nopaint
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:01 pm

Re: Update For Fullscreen

Postby Darvin on Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:46 pm

dislekcia wrote:We're working on a couple of different places to buy the game, keep your eyes (eye?) peeled :)

Thanks for the update :-)
User avatar
Darvin
 
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:44 am

Re: Update For Fullscreen

Postby dislekcia on Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:59 am

nopaint wrote:Honestly I never felt the bilinear default fullscreen was BAD or Blurry. Yeah, it was a bit blurry, but that's billinear right? Still alot better than a normal 2x filter who has to relly on precise coordinates to mantain the aspect ratio. By the way what does the shader fullscreen do? It enables us to write our own shaders and make it work with the game, or just a default billinear shader for compatibility?


Haha, no, the shader option doesn't let you write your own shaders... I have no idea how to make that even a possibility. It's a custom filtering shader that tries to "spread out" the sampling issues that arise from using point filtering. It works best on resolutions that are close to either 1x or 2x, but it tends to look a little too much like bilinear filtering at 1.5x resolutions. I was initially trying to make a much more complex shader than the one that ended up going live, but filtering is mathematically annoying as hell :(
User avatar
dislekcia
 
Posts: 1734
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Update For Fullscreen

Postby nopaint on Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:18 am

Ok, thanks for that very explicit answer on the shader filder :) yeah as you said, I can't find too much difference between the regular bilinear and the shader one but it never bothered me to be true.

As for the custom shader, I just said that because I remember that, a long time ago, when I use adept at using emulators, a certain branch of M.A.M.E had an option where you selected the shader option and then you would but a file with your shader on the folder, writen by you. Then you could play the game with that shader: I remember playing those games with a neat combination of scanlines, CRT curvature and RGB effect that was really neat and authentic :)

And no, I don't really need (or want) that feature: it seems like you guys have enough work already with the Linux (yes, this one I really want :)) and mobile versions!
User avatar
nopaint
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:01 pm

Re: Update For Fullscreen

Postby baconcow on Sun Apr 27, 2014 12:25 am

Wasn't quite the fullscreen update I was looking forward to. Unfortunately, with a 2560x1440 resolution monitor, playing the game at native resolution, it is a small box. Fullscreen is a blurry mess. Was hoping for an upgrade to higher resolution assets.
baconcow
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 3:27 am

Next

Return to Desktop Dungeons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests