[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 120: preg_filter(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
QCF Design Community • View topic - Questions About Indie Companies

Questions About Indie Companies

Talk to QCF .. we love to hear from you

Questions About Indie Companies

Postby EvilBarrels on Sun Jun 01, 2014 1:23 pm

I've been thinking about starting an indie game company or solo project but I have very little knowledge of what can be made with indie/solo time and budget. Do you guys at QCF mind if I run some game ideas by you and ask a few questions? If you like the ideas I'm happy to let you use some in future projects.
EvilBarrels

Re: Questions About Indie Companies

Postby dislekcia on Sun Jun 01, 2014 6:18 pm

We have way more ideas than we have time to build ;)

A lot of people seem to think that they somehow need permission to make games. Permission often comes in the form of having an "official" company, having existing developers okay your ideas or getting someone else to support your projects. None of that is needed and, truth be told, ideas are pretty much worthless.

If you want to make games, you should start making games. The easiest way to do that is just to download a bunch of game development tools (like Game Maker, Construct 2 or Unity) and do tutorials with all of them until you find yourself making your own changes to the tutorial games. Once you've got a few of those under your belt, start testing out your smaller ideas. Every time you don't manage to finish something, make the next idea smaller in scope until you do finish something.

And join a community built around making games. This forum really isn't made to support that, but places like TIGsource are. You'll be able to post your games as soon as there's something playable (which you should do ASAP), get feedback and have a ton of skills to fall back on when you hit bugs.
dislekcia