Do you receive the value of your current items and gold back if you choose to restart a dungeon with access to the stairs? Is restarting the same things as retiring if i can still access the stairs?
For instance, I realise that I have no hope of finishing the dungeon I'm on, or I'm looking for a particular combo of item or gods. It is possible to reach the dungeon stairs, retire then restart, but I can't be bothered searching for that little signpost. Two clicks and I've restarted the dungeon, minus some gold. There's no indication of what I've lost or gained in the process.
Go, mathematics wizards!