Is this a bug?

All things Desktop Dungeons

Is this a bug?

Postby TheSchachter on Sat May 25, 2013 2:06 am

I just encountered this subdungeon in the Slime Pits:

Image

This looks like that one subdungeon with the blinking snakes and the enemy that drops Lemmisee, and at first glance it looks like a bug... couldn't figure out what to do, and then I accidentally killed myself before I got to explore it more (run was going so well for Hoarder/Miser slime pits PQI, too...)

Anyhow, I thought I'd ask here instead of posting it in the Bug Report thread immediately. Is this a normal occurence?
Come watch my Desktop Dungeons Videos!
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCthxFjzttU83tslTUnoFhug
User avatar
TheSchachter
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Is this a bug?

Postby Waldo0 on Sat May 25, 2013 2:23 am

I also thought a same thing when I met the subdungeon at first.

It is not a bug. :D

There is a secret in the center of water. 8-)
*F+Click* "WTF? Oh.. the monster had a 'Retaliate: Fireball'...." -2012 Waldo0
"I cleared this game!!!" -2013 Waldo0
User avatar
Waldo0
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:41 am

Re: Is this a bug?

Postby TheSchachter on Tue May 28, 2013 3:24 am

Well, since I've got this thread open about questionable bugs, how about this: I had overheal from the Scholar's Pact in effect and I converted the Health Pendant I had in my inventory; in doing this I lost all of the health I had over my maximum. Is this intended? This was in Berserker Gold BTW.
Come watch my Desktop Dungeons Videos!
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCthxFjzttU83tslTUnoFhug
User avatar
TheSchachter
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Is this a bug?

Postby The Avatar on Tue May 28, 2013 4:46 am

You should lose some of it (health cannot exceed 150% of a full health bar), but 150% of your new hp total should remain.
JakshdfFiha$#jaigb532i97fbnPKASN*@)sdjbau9a0)f+,Ahghs*hr)sk_sabdh^ujsbUA3{mvio/~dgffdsT^klndf,#ikon%(d

I speak chaos.
User avatar
The Avatar
 
Posts: 4453
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:52 pm
Location: Demonic Library

Re: Is this a bug?

Postby Waldo0 on Tue May 28, 2013 6:29 am

TheSchachter wrote:Well, since I've got this thread open about questionable bugs, how about this: I had overheal from the Scholar's Pact in effect and I converted the Health Pendant I had in my inventory; in doing this I lost all of the health I had over my maximum. Is this intended? This was in Berserker Gold BTW.

I know the case. :x. It is really annoying. :(

There are similar cases. Drinking health potions, removing some other health items, levels up(I can understand it), dracul's blood swell, Healing a poison with HALPMEH when you are overhealed.

Anyway, I think they are bugs!
*F+Click* "WTF? Oh.. the monster had a 'Retaliate: Fireball'...." -2012 Waldo0
"I cleared this game!!!" -2013 Waldo0
User avatar
Waldo0
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 4:41 am

Re: Is this a bug?

Postby dislekcia on Tue May 28, 2013 9:18 am

Ah, nice find.

All of that was coded before overheal was possible, so the health interaction doesn't pay attention to overheal properly.
User avatar
dislekcia
 
Posts: 1753
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Is this a bug?

Postby Checkem on Tue May 28, 2013 11:05 pm

Huh, so it's not meant to happen? I always assumed it was. Nice find!
Checkem
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 9:16 pm

Re: Is this a bug?

Postby TheSchachter on Tue May 28, 2013 11:22 pm

Yay! Glad I could help. I thought I should ask: Would you rather I ask questions like this if I'm not sure if what i saw was a bug (as to not fill up the bug thread with false reports), or should I just head straight to the bug report thread?
Come watch my Desktop Dungeons Videos!
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCthxFjzttU83tslTUnoFhug
User avatar
TheSchachter
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:40 am

Re: Is this a bug?

Postby dislekcia on Wed May 29, 2013 9:32 am

If something's not a bug in the bugs thread, we usually reply saying what's going on. I'd prefer to keep possible bugs in one place, but I've already logged this issue, so it's not a big deal to re-report it ;) Generally if something needs to be discussed to figure out if it's a bug or not, then it should get its own thread.

I realise I may have just contradicted myself.
User avatar
dislekcia
 
Posts: 1753
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Is this a bug?

Postby JayPlaysIndieGames on Wed May 29, 2013 5:22 pm

On the note of bugs that we don't know if they are bugs here is statement you wouldn't expect from me.
"Naga Cauldron not working right with the thief. It's an item supposed to buff the effects of health and mana potions but maybe should buff both for the thief."
A banned member asked me to post this on my channel, I promise I won't normally be an outlet for banned people to post here but a bug report is a bug report even if I don't know what a naga cauldron is.
Honestly it sounds more like a design choice than a bug to me though.
http://www.youtube.com/JayPlaysIndieGames
Check out the Desktop Dungeons Review, let's play, and tutorials :)
User avatar
JayPlaysIndieGames
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 10:13 pm

Next

Return to Desktop Dungeons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests